Honoured doc out of line

LETTER

How on earth did this Lance O’Sullivan guy become New Zealander of the year?

At a time when the country is up in arms about “mental health” issues and “bullying” being a cause, we have a person who was honoured in this way being a bully in a very public forum and on TV.

We have people trying to make a decision about a very important factor in the lives of their children, trying to get information to make a sound decision, and this guy gets up and berates them and threatens them that their children will die!

A crucial part of the healthcare system is informed consent and here this guy is criticising people who are trying to inform themselves, and also talking about making vaccinations compulsory.

Surely it is a fundamental right to do as we see, to be the best thing for our children — not for bullying professionals who get paid to administer these things to try and influence them one way or the other. If a parent decides to go one way or the other, it is no concern of his.

In my opinion an apology will not cut it. He must rescind his award.

P.J. Roberts

How on earth did this Lance O’Sullivan guy become New Zealander of the year?

At a time when the country is up in arms about “mental health” issues and “bullying” being a cause, we have a person who was honoured in this way being a bully in a very public forum and on TV.

We have people trying to make a decision about a very important factor in the lives of their children, trying to get information to make a sound decision, and this guy gets up and berates them and threatens them that their children will die!

A crucial part of the healthcare system is informed consent and here this guy is criticising people who are trying to inform themselves, and also talking about making vaccinations compulsory.

Surely it is a fundamental right to do as we see, to be the best thing for our children — not for bullying professionals who get paid to administer these things to try and influence them one way or the other. If a parent decides to go one way or the other, it is no concern of his.

In my opinion an apology will not cut it. He must rescind his award.

P.J. Roberts

Your email address will not be published. Comments will display after being approved by a staff member. Comments may be edited for clarity.

Peter Jones - 1 year ago
Yes, if you are giving the PC answer you must do it in a PC way. O'Sullivan went against many of his peers, even if they are still a minority in mainstream medicine.

Paul Sullivan - 1 year ago
It is every concern of his when he has to treat the children who have subsequently become ill as a result of their parents' willing ignorance of basic scientific facts and sound medical advice. "Informed consent" must rely on solid facts, otherwise it is nothing of the sort. Anti-vaxxers are no more than an ill-informed conspiracy cult, and I suspect Dr O'Sullivan took the action he did out of sheer frustration that they have proven themselves unwilling to listen to the advice of those who know best. Good on him, let's hope he continues to take an aggressive stand against those who would put their children's health in grave danger.

Bob Hughes - 1 year ago
Doctor O?Sullivan is quite right. Dodging immunisation will continue to kill children if parents do not get them their jabs. In the early days of childhood vaccinations, I witnessed a toddler struggling for breath before later suffocating to death from contracting dyptheria. Unfortunately other little ones in the girl?s community had missed out on their babyhood jabs and it was this that allowed the deadly bug to get a hold.
During my 85 years, many diseases have been all but eradicated from societies because of the science of immunisation. Let?s not allow a return to the regular epidemics of pre-vaccination days.

John Fricker - 1 year ago
Mr Hughes fails to acknowledge the fact that some children have died as a result of being inoculated.

S. Williams - 1 year ago
Well said P.J. Roberts. One can only wonder why Dr O'Sullivan and the pharma industry are so afraid of informed parents.
Parents, please do research the subject thoroughly. You and your children are the ones who have to bear the consequences. Your children deserve a happy, healthy childhood.
(Abridged)

S.Williams - 1 year ago
Sad to see my letter to the editor was censored, too many inconvenient facts in it, I guess!
For those who want to know the facts please see below from doctors and researchers, just as a sample:
Bait on a Plate
Hilary Butler
http://www.beyondconformity.co.nz/hilarys-desk/bait-on-a-plate

Doctor jumps onstage to warn crowd to leave Vaxxed film
Travis Gettys
https://www.sott.net/article/352394-Doctor-jumps-onstage-to-warn-crowd-to-leave-Vaxxed-film

Sweden Bans Mandatory Vaccinations Over ?Serious Heath Concerns?
http://www.theeventchronicle.com/health/sweden-bans-mandatory-vaccinations-over-serious-heath-concerns/#

Dr. Sherri Tenpenny: "There's No Such Thing As A Clean Vaccine!"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oWXoMEmkjRA

Dr Tenpenny, What the CDC documents say about vaccines.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1VwVBmx0Ng

Bex, Auckland - 1 year ago
The many thousands of concerned parents are not ignorant nor ill-informed, they are asking important questions in an attempt to hold vaccine manufacturers accountable for providing a safe and thoroughly-tested product before injecting it into their new babies. Our children are not getting healthier with the ever-increasing vaccine schedule, we seem to be replacing acute, treatable childhood diseases that give long-term immunity with chronic, untreatable auto-immune and neurological diseases and issues. It's only recent generations who have become so afraid of illness . . . identified early and treated properly, they are an important part of developing a healthy immune system. Is it too inconvenient to take time off work now to stay home while your children get better and recover with life-time immunity? Does it take too long to research the diseases and how to treat them? Dr O'Sullivan's intentions may have been good but his approach was bullying and he has no right to suggest removing the rights of parents . . . and he was factually incorrect on some key points.

Lisa Welbourne - 1 year ago
My child and my family have been broken by the results of vaccination. What seems to pass unnoticed by some is that, for many of us, it is our blind faith towards vaccinating our children that has resulted in so much harm. I have seen the science, and evidence abounds across the spectrum. It is not in support of one side (if that even exists), you just have to be willing to read it. My child is safer and healthier unvaccinated and I will never make him suffer like I did when I was uninformed. It broke me to know I did that to my child without informed consent. I am pro choice, pro child, pro science. Parental rights need to be protected.

Aileen Lowe, Nelson - 1 year ago
Yes, he now has a duty to rescind his award because to be a 'person of the year' one would understand that person to have integrity, leadership, open-mindedness, compassion and vision. He showed himself to be a bully with a closed mind, who decided through ego entitlement that he had a right to bully. As a result of his actions and attitudes, he cannot be relied upon as a health professional.

Jamie, Auckland - 1 year ago
I think he should be removed as NZer of the Year...why? Because he did bully, he stomped his way into a viewing of a film that is NOT ANTIVAX when he was invited to view it and bullied those who were there, stating they would be the reason babies will die - without even seeing the film. This man is out of control and I am ashamed that such a man calls himself a doctor let alone was named NZer of the year. If he did his own research he would know that there is a risk with vaccines just as there are with other medications.

Simon Clendon - 1 year ago
"Informed" consent is important, not "misinformed" consent. The Vaxxed promoters came to his town to show a film that could seriously affect the health of the population and the letter writer has a go at someone trying to defend his people?! Seriously?
A fraudomentary from someone who conducted a fraudulent study should be given no weight. Bravo Dr Lance O'Sullivan (a doctor who has not had his licence to practice revoked). Dr O'Sullivan gained his award for very good reason. I suggest you read about his deeds.

S. Williams - 1 year ago
Yes, Simon, informed consent is important. Do Dr. O'Sullivan and other doctors read the ingredients listed on the vaccine inserts to the parents first?
Do they mention the possible side effects of any vaccines (again from vaccine industry's own data sheet and inserts) to parents? Do they tell them that any vaccine they give to their child is not tested properly against a neutral solution? Do they tell parents that safety of multi-vaccines and the current schedule of vaccines, i.e. the burden these put on a child immune system, it is not tested. Do they make parents understand that their children are being tested as guinea pigs and long-term effects of these vaccines are not tested. Do they tell them that aluminium can go through blood-brain barrier of an infant as it is not fully developed. Do they tell them that in Japan they don't vaccinate kids below two years of age for this and other reasons.
Do they tell parents that presence of antibodies as a result of vaccination doesn't result in immunity and gives a false sense of security.

Alan Ireland, Palmerston North - 1 year ago
As far as I can see, the "science" behind vaccination is tobacco science. In other words, it turns a blind eye to the harm done by the product(s) in question. The "sound medical advice" referred to by Paul Sullivan is that vaccines are "safe and effective". Nothing is said about the (US) National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act of 1986, which "eliminate[d] manufacturer liability for a vaccine's unavoidable, adverse side effects". Nothing is said about the (US) Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System. Nothing is said about the (US) National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, which has, to date, paid out more than $3 billion in cases of vaccine damage. This means that the vast majority of people who decide to vaccinate do not make an informed decision.

Katherine, Hamilton - 1 year ago
Has everybody here who has supported O'Sullivan and dissed parents SEEN - THE - FILM? I read a lot of irrelevant statements here the best going to: During my 85 years, many diseases have been all but eradicated from societies because of the science of immunisation...Bob Hughes you are completely wrong:
GO HERE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kf6nRsoKTSA

Poll

  • Voting please wait...
    Your vote has been cast. Reloading page...
    Do you support the call for a feasibility study into developing an "inland port" and sending the district's export logs to Napier Port by rail, to get log trucks out of the city and to repurpose the port and harbour area?